Blast from the Past: Halloween- Lydia Deetz

Even though Halloween is more than 2 months away, with the way this year is flying by, it’ll be here before we know it! Which is pretty fantastic because it’s my favorite month of the year (yes Halloween should be a whole month).
Nabila, it’s way too early for a Halloween post, don’t ya think? I know, I know. But the other day I went to Costco and, to my surprise, they already had numerous amounts of Halloween costumes and decorations in display! So, that got me thinking…What should I dress up as for Halloween this year?
A little of my past Halloweens history: costumes that deserve a notable mention have consisted of a cute Butterfly (1988), a pumpkin (1994), a blue Genie –à la I dream of Jeannie (1995),  Zatanna Zatara (2009), Dead Roller Derby Girl (2010), Amelia Earhart(2011), Wednesday Addams(2012-2013), Lydia Deetz (2014), and Link (2015).

My absolute favorite Halloween costume of all time is Lydia Deetz (from Beetlejuice).
lydiadeetz1

Two Halloweens ago, like every year, I waited until the very last minute to choose a Halloween costume. After being Wednesday Addams for two years in a row, I knew I couldn’t be Wednesday again. So, I searched my brain for costume possibilities, mostly this consisted of looking inside my closet and trying to visualize something. That was a solid failure until out of nowhere the name Lydia Deetz appeared in my brain. What an epiphany that was! I still remember it like it was yesterday. I had everything in my closet, minus the black floppy wool hat (Forever 21). After wearing this ensemble for a day, I was obsessed with the look. And still am!

lydiadeetz2

lydiadeetz3

lydiadeetz4

I think, if I could dress up as Lydia Deetz everyday, I would.

lydiadeetz

One day I’d like to dress up in the red wedding dress she wears!

lydiadeetzred
Cosplayer: Ryoko-demon

 

This year I’m doing things differently. I’ve already thought of a couple of possibilities and I want to thank Pinterest for helping me out here. There’s Spinelli from Recess (when I was a kid, I wanted to be badass like her! Still do…), a Team Rocket member,  or Eleven. OR maybe I’ll do all three?? I mean, I’m a firm believer that Halloween should be a full month!

Will you be dressing up this Halloween?? Are you the type to procrastinate til the very end like me? Or do you formulate ideas months & months in advance? Let me know in the comments! 🙂

 

 

Leave a Reply

